Showing posts with label After. Show all posts
Showing posts with label After. Show all posts
Sunday, August 18, 2013
Android Lost Controls Your Stolen Phone, Even After You've Lost It
Android: Most phone recovery apps require you install the app before you lose the phone or it gets stolen. Android Lost, however, can be remotely installed and it comes with a slew of useful features beyond just locating your phone.Android Lost is similar to previously mentioned Plan B, but Plan B only works for Android 2.0 to 2.3 and is dedicated to simply locating your missing phone. Android Lost, as the video above shows, not only locates by GPS (or network), but can also remotely wipe or lock your phone, take pictures, send message popups, get call lists, erase the SD card, record sound from the microphone, start an alarm, and much more—making it a great security app.You can install the app from the Google Play site, and then send an SMS to register your device with the Android Lost website where you control the phone. If you have tablet without SMS, you can still remotely register the phone with the Jumpstart app.Aviel Livay's story of how he used Android Lost to track his daughter's stolen phone showcases some of the best uses of the app and how useful it can be.You can also use the app for non-recovery purposes—to disable the lockcode if you've forgotten it, for example, or remotely control your Android device from afar.Pick up the free app at the Google Play store.Android Lost | Google Play
Tuesday, June 11, 2013
Stop Windows from Restarting Your Computer After Updates
Sometimes, Windows downloads important updates and decides it's going to restart your computer whether you like it or not. Here's how to disable that behavior.This has been part of Windows for a long time, and while Microsoft tried to fix it in Windows 8, the annoyance still remains. When you see that screen that says your computer's going to restart in 15 minutes, you just grit your teeth and accept it.But, there's actually an easy way to fix this—and it works in Windows 7, too. You just need to make a small tweak to the registry:Head to the Start menu or screen and type "regedit" (no quotes). Start the Registry Editor that pops up.Navigate to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate\AUOn many computers, you won't see the "WindowsUpdate" key. To create it, right-click on the "Windows" key in the sidebar and go to New > Key. Name the key WindowsUpdate, then right-click on that key and create a new one called AU.Click on the AU key and, in the right pane, right-click on the empty space and choose New > DWORD (32-bit) Value.Name the new DWORD: NoAutoRebootWithLoggedOnUsersDouble-click on the new DWORD and give it a value of 1.Reboot your machine and from now on, Windows will not force you to reboot after installing updates. Of course, when you install updates, you should still reboot your computer—and that responsibility is now on you—but this makes sure Windows doesn't catch you by surprise.Again, this registry key has been around for a long time, and should work in Windows 7 as well (but we thought it was worth revisiting for Windows 8). You can also perform the same task with the Group Policy Editor if you're on Windows 8 Pro. Hit the link below to see how.Prevent Windows From Restarting Your PC After Windows Updates | How-To Geek
Labels:
After,
Computer,
Restarting,
Updates,
Windows
Friday, May 24, 2013
How to Uninstall Windows or Linux After Dual-Booting
Sorry, I could not read the content fromt this page.Sorry, I could not read the content fromt this page.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)